“…it becomes a part of me.”

11741793_10153485886234645_700544038_n“Everything Poisoned.”

Bookish quote from “Of Human Bondage” by W. Somerset Maugham:

When I read a book I seem to read it with my eyes only, but now and then I come across a passage, perhaps only a phrase, which has a meaning for me, and it becomes part of me; I’ve got out of the book all that’s any use to me, and I can’t get anything more if I read it a dozen times. You see, it seems to me, one’s like a closed bud, and most of what one reads and does has no effect at all; but there are certain things that have a peculiar significance for one, and they open a petal; and the petals open one by one, and at last the flower is there.

One thought on ““…it becomes a part of me.”

Leave a Reply

