“…things about myself I don’t know.”

10994607_10153217386024645_602106239103246448_nSakura flowers from near my house when I lived in Tokyo

Bookish quote from “Too Loud a Solitude” by Bohumil Hrabal:

[…] and pick up a book, and my eyes open panic-stricken on a world other than my own, because when I start reading I’m somewhere completely different, I’m in the text, it’s amazing, I have to admit I’ve been dreaming, dreaming in a land of great beauty, I’ve been in the very heart of truth.
Ten times a day, every day, I wonder at having wandered so far, and then alienated from myself, a strange to myself, I go home, walking the streets silently and in deep meditation, passing trams and cars and pedestrians in a cloud of books, the books I found that day and am carrying home in my briefcase.
Lost in my dreams, I somehow cross at the traffic signals, never bumping into street lamps or people, yet moving onward, exuding fumes of beer and grime, yet smiling, because my briefcase is full of books and that very night I expect them to tell me things about myself I don’t know.

2 thoughts on ““…things about myself I don’t know.”

Leave a Reply

