Mick Jagger

10922553_10153043973384645_1152258627904486739_n

“Mick Jagger” by Philip Norman
(First publication: 2012 / This edition: Harper Collins 2013)
Taken a little over a year ago; on a coffee break with the “Greatest Hits” compilation CD

Lose your dreams and you might lose your mind. (“Ruby Tuesday)

I was out all day yesterday so I didn’t have time to write. But…this is a little belated “Happy 72nd Birthday” post in honor of the legendary beyond-human Mick Jagger.

I remember the first time I heard The Rolling Stones. I was 8 (at the turn of the millennium), and my family and I were on a beach vacation at Koh Samui. It being a road trip, they immediately passed out by the time we got to the hotel. Since I had slept in the car the whole way, I was still alert and was watching MTV at 1am. After all the music videos of Britney Spears and NSYNC, MTV had something like an “old classic hits” program (way after prime time). The Rolling Stones’ “Wild Horses” was on. I remember thinking, “These guys are so weird.” …but I was very moved by the song, and for days, “Wild, wild horses…couldn’t drag me away” kept echoing in my head. It’s still my favorite Stones song today.

I bought this biography a little over a year ago on a book-shopping spree at Kinokuniya in Tokyo. I was going crazy with my graduation thesis, and for some reason, I listened to The Rolling Stones so much (more than usual) during those days cooped up in my apartment. I have a few of their CDs but none were with me in Tokyo. Streaming on Youtube wasn’t satisfying enough so I went to Tower Records and got this compilation album of their greatest hits, and then decided to pick up a biography as well. Their tunes brought lighter moods to get me through that stressful period.

A few months later, I started an internship. I remember my teammates and I were given a project that buried us in stress, conflicts, and exhaustion, but every now and then, we’d find relief and deliverance by turning on some YouTube videos of The Rolling Stones. We’d be sitting in our chairs, and sing and dance along to “Beast of Burden” and “Start Me Up” togetherโ€”despite the looks from our supervisors. I will always remember one of the guy’s imitations of Mick Jagger’s dance moves. Now, whenever I need a little R&R, The Rolling Stones is my go-to feed.

Now, about this book… I think I’ve only read about halfway through it. Unfortunately, this book is still being shipped from Tokyo (along with 93 more), so I’ll have to wait a few more months before I can read it again (I just moved a few months ago). I like it so far though; I enjoyed reading about Mick Jagger’s childhoodโ€”how since he was little, he was already noticed as being “different” from other kids. I didn’t get to the later parts about “sex, drugs, and rock n’ roll” yet, but there are already countless articles about those years that we all already know about. I would recommend this book to those that are a fan, and those that want to read the lesser-known stories: what this romantic boy was like before he became one of the most iconic persons in history. It’s an entertaining read. ๐Ÿ™‚

But before your read it…..Something to make your day livelier ๐Ÿ™‚ Here are 10 of my favorite songs by The Rolling Stones. Click on the song title to go to its Youtube video. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Mick Jagger

Leave a Reply

