“…and still the box is not full.”

11857726_10153566533654645_1144795005_nBook dedication page in “East of Eden”

John Steinbeck wrote this note/letter to his good friend and editor, Pascal Covici. I thought it was the best, sweetest, and most meaningful book dedication I have come across. (My post on “East of Eden”Β here) I think we all have a person we feel this much appreciation and love for in our livesβ€”we should be grateful and let them know! πŸ™‚

Dear Pat,

You came upon me carving some kind of little figure out of wood and you said, “Why don’t you make something for me?”

I asked you what you wanted, and you said, “A box.”

“What for?”

“To put things in.”

“What things?”

“Whatever you have,” you said.

Well, here’s your box. Nearly everything I have is in it, and it is not full. Pain and excitement are in it, and feeling good or bad and evil thoughts and good thoughtsβ€”the pleasure of design and some despair and the indescribable joy of creation.

And on top of these are all the gratitude and love I have for you.

And still the box is not full.

John

2 thoughts on ““…and still the box is not full.”

Leave a Reply

