“…the end sum of humanity.”

11920350_10153615054004645_1912948581_nThe Fiction of Human Beings

Matt Haig is one of my favorite modern writers. His books “Reasons to Stay Alive” and “The Humans” are two of the most inspiring and heart-warming books to me. I love them.

Here is a bookish passage from “Reasons to Stay Alive”. I love it.

Every book written is the product of a human mind in a particular state. Add all the books together and you get the end sum of humanity. Every time I read a great book I feel I was reading a kind of map, a treasure map, and the treasure I was being directed to was in actual fact myself. But each map was incomplete, and I would only locate the treasure if I read all the books, and so the process of finding my best self was an endless quest. And books themselves seemed to me to reflect this idea. Which is why the plot of every book ever can be boiled down to ‘someone is looking for something’.

One clichΓ© attached to bookish people is that they are lonely, but for me books were my way out of being lonely. If you are the type of person who thinks too much about stuff then there is nothing lonelier in the world than being surrounded by a load of people on a different wavelength.

In my deepest state of depression, I had felt stuck. I felt trapped in quicksand (as a kid that had been my most common nightmare). Books were about movement. They were about quests and journeys. Beginnings and middles and ends, even if not in that order. They were about new chapters. And leaving old ones behind. (p.137-138)

πŸ™‚

Click here to see another quote by him that I always hold close to the heart.

One thought on ““…the end sum of humanity.”

Leave a Reply

