The Moon is Down

12494057_10153881122539645_738150280_o
“The Moon is Down” by John Steinbeck
(First publication: 1942 / This edition: Penguin Book 2014)
Taken during a coffee break at Rocket x Siwilai. Had the salted-caramel affogato…again.

I’m tired of people who have not been at war who know all about it.

Blegh.

I can’t help feeling a bit disappointed… I feel like since I finished all the Steinbecks from the Penguin Steinbeck Centennial set โ€”which I lovedlovedlovedโ€”and (reluctantly, hesitantly, tip-toeingly) branched out, the other Steinbecks have been disappointing. I enjoyed “Sweet Thursday” but didn’t feel too much for it; “The Pastures of Heaven” was in short-story style which I don’t like; and “The Winter of Our Discontent” was so draggy and unmemorable.

With “The Moon is Down”… I didn’t even finish it.

I tried.

I promise. I really did.

It’s only 112 pages too…but I wanted to give up since I was in the 30s. I had such high expectations for the book because the title is intriguing, the cover is beautiful, and, well, it’s Steinbeck. (But I found myself staring at the smaller texts on the cover for literally five minutes trying to figure out: What is it trying to say? Where are the commas or periods are supposed to be? What were they printing when they made the layout? It doesn’t make any sense when you place the wording like this. “People are getting together they don’t like | To be conquered things are going to happen” ….What? ARGHHHH!!!!!!)

12557877_10153881122404645_901906767_o

….. But I found out later in the book that it’s a line a character says: “People are getting together. They don’t like to be conquered. Things are going to happen.”

….. Which eased my frustrations by an inch, because I still don’t get why Penguin’s creative team would let that layout pass.

Rant, rant, rant.

Obviously… I don’t have much to talk about the story itself. I didn’t like it at all, and after 70-ish pages, I finally gave up.

I just couldn’t focus on it. I found myself drifting off after every page, which rarely happens with a Steinbeck book. I think it’s because of a combination of:
1. It’s about politics and armies… I can never focus on political content.
2. I’ve just been very busy with work lately so my mind’s always on other things.
3. … but still. I just feel like nothing interesting has happened, even after halfway through the book.

Sigh….

It has good ratings on Goodreads and a lot of praises… so I might be missing something. It’s probably just meโ€”it’s just not my cup of tea. I’m not good at concentrating when there’s talks about captains, lieutenants, colonels, etc, and they just seem to have meetings after meetings…. (or if that’s even what was going on, I can barely remember what I “read” about).

I think I should just hold off on Steinbeck for a while. I really loved all the books I read in the Steinbeck Centennial Editions set and want to keep that “Steinbeck Love” feeling. I feel like all the others I’ve read that aren’t in that set have been my love for him decline (little by little).

12544144_10153881122449645_1604824983_o

Another photo because I’m loving the color scheme ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “The Moon is Down

  1. Too bad you did not enjoy it. But that is okay. A well known author might not necessarily have every reader enjoying its works. His fame means a lot of them enjoyed the book, thats all. Perhaps you might like another Steinbeck or maybe another author? I have only read East of Eden. I liked it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes… It was disappointing, but it’s like with any favorite bands/artists… There might be a song that I might not like, but I still consider them a favorite band/singer. ๐Ÿ™‚
      East of Eden is amazing and will always be one of my favorites. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

